Artist: Tom Tyler
Title: Forward Going Backward
Label: DC Recordings (UK)
Cat. No: DC58
Format: 2LP/CD
Release Date: 7 February 2005

Tom Tyler: Forward Going Backward

Tom Tyler released his debut album 'Asleep At The Witch' in 2000 on DC Recordings. Since then he's released the 'Singles Collection 1998-99' album (a compilation of tracks taken from his first 3 EPs 'The Right Information', 'Fusions And Illusions' and 'Carmel Conclusion') and also gone on to remix tracks for the Cinematic Orchestra, Sofa Surfers, Royce 59 & Eminem.

Now after 4 years Tyler returns in fine form with 'Forward Going Backward', another psychedelic blend of folk, hip hop & jazz that retains the soundtrack-like qualities of its predecessor. Although still built around Tyler's penchant for a meaty breakbeat, the album ups the ante in terms of live instrumentation, as Tyler is joined here by Duncan Mackay (Primal Scream) on trumpet, Max Brennan (double bass/tamboura/tabla), Lee Russell (electric sitar/pedal steel & acoustic guitar/drums), Teowa Vuong (violin), James McKeehan (bass/guitar), Adrian Meehan (Geezers of Nazareth) on drums, and Mike Hazell (conga).

Tracks include the percussion-heavty funk of album opener 'Drinking Tea From An Empty Cup', the majestic country folk of 'Daylight Robbed Her', spiritual Indian vibes courtesy of the sitar sounds of 'Siolim', Miles Davis-esque moments in 'Moemarer' and 'Snowball Go Green', as well as darker up-temp atmospheres of 'The Crippled Diode' and 'Backspace Altercation'.

Once again, Tom Tyler has constructed a seamlessly consistent album that embraces a worldly array of styles and influences.

DC Recordings
231 Portobello Road
W11 1 LT

fax: 020 7792 9871 - James Dyer, Label Manager - Matt Hughes, Press Officer

The Exciting World of J Saul Kane